FLIPPING SCRIPTS

“Flipping Scripts,” is a poem that comes from the need to understand your own hurt, and the possibility of the traumas that may come from it. It also comes from a point of the need to understand your attachment styles, and the reason they exist.

The hope and desire, to be whole again after so long, and escape the pain of losing the one you are attached to; and still coming out on the other side, okay, and a bit whole.

To the ones who love and commit to the ones they love, and still come out broken when things end; this is for you; may you find solace in these words. May you become whole again somehow.

FLIPPING SCRIPTS

After we ended;
I wanted to know why I was so attached to you;
I wanted to know why I was like this;
And that drove me to learn more on attachment styles;

I saw my trauma;
Understood its roots, and past;
And somehow, all this made sense;
I was seeing patterns in all this;

My avoidance of love;
And all those who threatened to love me,
Began to make sense;
This was a trauma pattern being formed;

But as I understood this;
I also began to understand;
That I needed to be secure with my emotions,
I needed to be secure with who I am;

And this would begin with me loving myself first;
So, I began to spend time with myself;
Forming an attachment with myself;
Forming an attachment with who I am, was becoming, and once was.

Leave a comment