WE LIVED THROUGH THIS PAIN

“We Lived Through This Pain,” is a lot about finally letting go of an attachment that you had held on to for so long, and in the process had broken you; not only because you held on for so long, but also because it ended with you being heartbroken.

This piece is about finally coming out for air after so long; having grieved the one you once cared for so much, and even dare say, you were once in love with.

This was a necessity; this was a necessary process; and it has finally run its course. We are breathing again; we’ve come up for air, and we love it here.

WE LIVED THROUGH THIS PAIN

Towards our end;
It was just me;
My thoughts;
And all these emotions,
Full of attachment towards you;

These feelings broke me;
In ways I would hate to openly admit;
But they were mine,
And I had to accept them;
I had to live through them,

I made promises to myself,
To never let myself,
Be the way I was, when I was with you;
Because the pain destroyed parts of me,
I can never have back,

I silently mourned you,
With a nonchalance that still scares me;
But that was my way;
Of detaching from you,
And that had to be done,

When I eventually came out for air,
I somehow could breathe and be okay;
It took time,
But I finally let you go;
I finally put what we were, behind me.

Leave a comment